Quinoa Salad with Edamame

Despite the fact that my boyfriend and I like to poke fun at it and call it “hipster food” we both really like quinoa. This quinoa salad was a big hit at home, even better than the first quinoa salad I made. It was inspired by a recipe my girlfriend R. gave me, she always has such great recipes.

Quinoa Salad with Edamame Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of quinoa
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1 tbsp of chicken soup powder
  • 1 small cucumber – diced
  • 1 apple – diced
  • 1/2 onion – diced
  • 1 celery stalk – diced
  • 1 cup of cooked edamame
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp Asian sesame salad dressing
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp chili powder (optional)

Preparation:

  1. Rinse quinoa for 3 minutes in warm water. Add water, quinoa and chicken soup powder to pot and bring to a boil.
  2. Cover and simmer for 8 to 15 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool completely.
  3. Once quinoa is cooled add soy sauce and mix well. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well. You are done!

quinoa salad with edamame

2 thoughts on “Quinoa Salad with Edamame

  1. Hey, thanks for posting this recipe! I’m always looking for vegan grain-free stuff to make for my husband, who is lowering his cholesterol naturally. I made this yesterday and he *loved* it. We both really like quinoa but we overdid it on the two quinoa preparations I usually make this summer and I haven’t made it in a while. This was a nice and delicious change. I didn’t have the Asian dressing so I substituted rice wine vinegar, which worked really nicely. I loved the crunch of the apple and celery. Thanks!

Leave a comment