Cinnamon Roll Cake

When I was in university I had to take the subway downtown everyday from the Eglinton station (for those of you that know Toronto). And there I would go by Cinnabon, a place that makes the best, most moist, covered in a lot of icing, cinnamon rolls. The smell was so strong that you could even smell it in the subway, although Cinnabon was on an entirely different floor! It was hard to smell it, everyday, and resist it.

So when my friend R. brought some of her home-made cinnamon roll cake to work, I had to have the recipe. And the fact that it’s so easy to make was just bonus! Make this cake and your house will smell like Cinnabon, cinnamony goodness!

Click here to see the recipe below


 

Ingredients

Cake

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup butter – melted

Topping

  • 1 cup butter – softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon

Glaze

  • 2 cups icing sugar
  • 5 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F
  2. Mix all cake ingredients except the butter.
  3. Slowly add the melted butter and pour cake mix into a 9×13 baking pan
  4. Mix all topping ingredients until well combined
  5. Drop tablespoons of the topping evenly over the cake batter
  6. Swirl with a knife to spread the topping everywhere
  7. Bake for 28-30 mins
  8. Mix the glaze ingredients well and pour over the cake while still warm
6 thoughts on “Cinnamon Roll Cake

  1. I’m planning to make this tomorrow. Did you used Turbinado sugar? I was just reading your intro, I too remember passing by Eglinton subway I can smell the freshly bake rolls I can’t resist also then I end up buying the Pecan Cinnabon roll:-)

    • That’s great, you will love its! Yes, I use Turbinado because I didn’t have regular white sugar at home and I don’t think it made a difference. Just slightly healthier I guess 😉 You can use either.

Leave a Reply

