vegetarian pizza

Cooking with Friends – Vegetarian Pizza with Yeastless Dough

Lately I’ve been craving pizza. All the time. So I dragged my sister into it and we made some pizza from scratch, even the dough.  I love bread, I love carbs, I love cheese, I hate yeast. So I found a yeast-less pizza dough recipe! And it goes something like this:

Yeast-less pizza dough:

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 3/4 to 1 cup water

For the toppings:

  • Tomato sauce
  • Dried oregano
  • 1/2 cup Green olives
  • 3 Mushrooms
  • 2 Plum tomatoes
  • 1/2 fresh basil – chopped (I should have added more)
  • Bocconcini cheese – sliced

Preperation:

  1. Mix dry ingredients. add 3/4 cup water and oil. Stir until it forms a ball. – If dough is stiff, add more water.
  2. The dough will be soft, not sticky. Knead on a floured surface for 3-4 minutes.
  3. Spread dough on a pizza pan. Add toppings and bake at 400°F for 15-25 minutes.

The dough came out really great and not thin at all! I would add a little more salt next time and maybe some Italian herbs to make it more tasty.

 
vegetarian pizza

13 thoughts on “Cooking with Friends – Vegetarian Pizza with Yeastless Dough

  1. I either am frightened of yeast or have a healthy respect for it. Either way, I generally avoid any recipe that calls for yeast. Baking powder on the other hand, gives me no trouble at all. I love how your recipe doesn’t require any meditation time for the dough to rise etc.

    • I feel the same. Yeast and I don’t get along, so I avoid it. I haved learned from bitter (flat bread that shouldn’t be flat) experience that I *should* avoid yeast. At least for now. And not waiting for dough to rise is also pretty awesome. 🙂 If you try this recipe be sure to let me know, I’d love to know if you liked it as much as I do.

  2. I’m going to make this for pizza night tomorrow. My husband is a vegetarian and I usually make a margarita, but I was looking for something with less cheese and more veggies this week. Thanks!

      • I baked the dough for 5 minutes with some garlic salt and fresh parmesan before adding the other ingredients, and covered it with nearly a cup of fresh basil (as you mentioned you would have seasoned it more). I liked it and my husband was crazy about it. 🙂
        If not making a margarita pizza I usually add the same combination of ingredients (spinach, tomatoes, red onion, artichoke hears, and black olives) so it was nice to try something different. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

