Creamy Cauliflower Zucchini Soup

Two weeks ago my girlfriend and I went away for a weekend in the Bruce Peninsula. On the way back home we stopped for a late lunch at a little cafe in Wiarton called Cocoa Vanilla. There I had one of the best creamy soups I have ever had, creamy cauliflower zucchini soup. And you already know how much I love zucchini. So, I had to try and make it myself and see how close I get to it at home.

I must say it came out nothing like the soup I had at Cocoa Vanilla. I think they use cream in that soup, and probably less zucchini. And the spices are added are probably off.

Do you have a recipe for creamy cauliflower soup? I’d love to know how you make soup with cauliflower.

Creamy Cauliflower Zucchini Soup Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp grapeseed oil
  • 8 cups of chicken stock
  • 2 zucchini – sliced
  • 1 cauliflower
  • 1 small onion – sliced
  • 4 garlic cloves – peeled
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp garlic salt
  • 1/2 tsp dry thyme
  • a pinch of cumin
  • 1 tbsp parmesan cheese
  • pepper to taste

Preparation:

  1. Heat oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add onion and saute until it becomes transparent.
  2. Add zucchini, garlic, cauliflower, chicken stock and all spices.
  3. Bring to a boil on high heat, reduce heat and simmer uncovered until the cauliflower is soft.
  4. Add parmesan and blend the soup in the pot using a hand blender. Adjust the spices to your taste.
  5. Top with sour cream and green onions or chives
4 thoughts on “Creamy Cauliflower Zucchini Soup

Leave a Reply

