Restoran Malaysia – Malaysian Cuisine

This is a restaurant my girlfriend R. has been raving about for months. I kept meaning to go there but it just never worked out. This week my boyfriend and I, well it was actually his idea, decided to treat ourselves to a dinner out and I immediately thought of this place.

Restoran Malaysia is a Malaysian restaurant in Vaughan, just north of Toronto. This was our first time having Malaysian food and we both enjoyed it. I was particularly excited when I saw the corn crab egg drop soup on the menu. A Thai favorite of mine. And it was delicious! And the coconut curry my boyfriend had was divine!

Everything was really good, except the mango pudding. It wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t what you would expect a pudding to be. It wasn’t the usual creamy-mushy goodness I am used to, but if I added a mango piece to each bite it made it much better. This might be the way Malaysian pudding is, I don’t know, but it wasn’t my thing.

So, here’s a break down of what we had and some (not very well lit) pictures below.

Corn Soup – Chicken-crab meat-sweet cream corn-egg.

Seafood Soup – Shrimp-calamari-scallop-tomato-mushroom-lemon grass-coriander.

Coconut Curry/Malay Kari – Beef with spices coconut potato

Tamarind/Masak Assam – Beef tenderloin with sweet pepper onion shallot tomato.

Goreng Pisang – Crisp fried banana fritters, served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and drizzled with sweet palm sugar.

Mango Rice Pudding

4 thoughts on “Restoran Malaysia – Malaysian Cuisine

  1. Mmmm, sounds delicious. I live Malaysian food. Mata Hari in Kensington Market has been my go-to place for years (and is amazing, if you haven’t tried it) but the menu sounds very different. I’m definitely going to have to check this place out next time I’m in town. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

