Spicy Chicken Fajitas

Looking for a good fajita recipe wasn’t successful so I decided to wing it. Not sure if the spices and ingredients I chose to use are what’s traditionally found in fajias, but I’m not a traditional girl anyway. I like to change things up. And I must say I’m pretty pretty pretty (Curb reference here…) proud of my creation. Here’s what I came up with.


 

Spicy Chicken Fajitas

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp grapeseed oil
  • 1 small onion – cut in half and sliced
  • 1/2 green pepper – sliced
  • 5 medium cremini mushrooms – sliced
  • 1 package of chicken cutlets
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 chipotle pepper and about 2 tsp of sauce from a can of chiptle peppers in adobo sauce
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preparation:

  1. In a large skillet heat oil over medium heat
  2. Add onion, pepper and mushrooms, a little bit of salt and saute until the onion are translucent
  3. In the meantime, slice chicken cutlets into strips
  4. Mix the chili powder, cumin, salt and pepper
  5. Add spice mixture to the chicken and toss to coat well
  6. Slice one chipotle pepper and add to the chicken along with the adobo sauce. mix well
  7. Add chicken to the skillet and cook until chicken is ready. 15-20 minutes depending on how thick the chicken strips are

Serve on tortillas (corn tortillas are the best if you can get them) with your favorite fajita toppings, sour cream, salsa, avocado, corn relish and cilantro!

2 thoughts on “Spicy Chicken Fajitas

  1. I really don’t think there is one single fajita recipe. As long as you have a large frying pan, preferably cast iron, then you are good to go. just be creative and make it tasty. My wife is Texan and I learned that from her.

Leave a Reply

