Avocado Cilantro Hummus

This hummus is amazing! Seriously! Even if you aren’t a big fan of cilantro (my boyfriend isn’t), you will love it. I am so glad I came across this recipe on The Shiksa in the Kitchen website because this might now become my new go-to hummus recipe, I love it that much. I would have licked the blades of my blender if I could because I didn’t want to waste a single drop of this stuff.

Make this hummus, I implore you!


 

Avocado Cilantro Hummus

Ingredients:

  • 1 15-ounce can chickpeas, rinsed and drained (reserve the liquid)
  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/3 cup fresh chopped cilantro
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and chopped (2 if you want it spicy)
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 4 tsp tahini paste
  • 1 tsp sriracha
  • 3/4 tsp salt, or more to taste

Preparation:

  1. Place the chickpeas and 1/2 cup olive oil into food processor.
  2. Pit and peel the avocado and add it to the processor along with cilantro, jalapeño, lemon juice, tahini, hot sauce and salt.
  3. Pulse the ingredients a few times, then process for 2-3 minutes, scrape the sides if needed to blend all the ingredients well.
  4. If the mixture is too thick, add some of the reserved liquid and olive oil until you get the desired thickness.
  5. Serve with fresh veggies (even raw onion!), crackers or pita chips and enjoy!

The original recipe was found on The Shiksa in the Kitchen‘s site.

2 thoughts on “Avocado Cilantro Hummus

Leave a Reply

