Mancare de cartofi – Romanian Sausage and Potato Stew

This is the perfect stew for those that are Meat-n-Potatoes kind of people, literally. I love every type of food and am far from that description as humanly possible (or so I’d like to think), but I like this type of food just as much. Mainly because it’s something my mom used to make, something I grew up with and because it’s just plain tasty.

I used Bratwurst sausages but you can use whatever you’d like. Feel free to add sweet potatoes/yams as well. Check out my mom’s recipe below the photos.


 

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp grapeseed oil
  • 1 red pepper – diced
  • 2-3 onions – diced
  • 2 celery stalks – diced
  • 1 carrot – diced
  • 6-8 potatoes or one bag of small potatoes – cubed
  • 6-8 fully cooked sausages or hot dogs – cut in 1/2 inch pieces
  • about 6 cups of chicken broth
  • 2 tomatoes – diced
  • 1 cup tomato sauce
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preparation:

  1. Heat grapeseed oil in large pot over medium heat
  2. Add onions, pepper and celery and saute until soft
  3. Add potatoes and carrot and cover with chicken broth – there should be just enough stock to cover it, not a lot more or it will come out too watery
  4. Add sausage and simmer for about 35 mins or until the potatoes are cooked
  5. Add tomatoes, tomato sauce and paste, salt and pepper and simmer for another 10 minues
2 thoughts on “Mancare de cartofi – Romanian Sausage and Potato Stew

  1. Just the recipe I was looking for! I’m lucky enough to have had some Romanian homemade sausages in the freezer (made by my mother-in-law in Iasi, Romania, and smoked by my father-in-law) so with the weather awful and a sore throat this is just the kind of food I need. I’ll probably do a post about it after eating this evening, in which case I’ll put in a link back to your recipe. Thank you

Leave a Reply

