creamy tomato soup

Creamy Tomato Soup

This is a recipe my girlfriend S. (that I miss so much, call me!!) shared with me because she knows just how much I love creamy soups. The immersion blender is absolutely my favorite small appliance. You can find her recipe below – I had to make a few substitutions because I didn’t have quite everything for it and didn’t want to go to the store in a snow storm.

I threw in a leek, cherry tomatoes and some pumpkin puree to make up for not having enough tomatoes, and I substituated the heavy cream with buttermilk.

This would go so well with some fresh soda bread! But I had to settle for some rye bread with caraway seeds.

creamy tomato soup
Creamy Tomato Soup Recipe

  • In a medium-sized soup pot sautee 1.5-2 small/medium onions (chopped [about 1 cup or so of onions altogether]) in 1/4 cup butter until soft and clear (stop when they begin to caramelize)
  • Add 2 large cans of whole (peeled) tomatoes (2 x 800ml cans)
  • Add one box of chicken stock (900ml)
  • Add Thyme, salt, and pepper
  • Stir to mix!
  • Simmer at medium-high heat UNCOVERED (rolling boil) for 45 mins – hour to reduce (Should be much thicker after reducing, but not TOO thick)
  • Puree with hand mixer – can be done in the pot!
  • Add 1/2 to 1 Cup of Heavy cream (35%) [depending on how rich you want it to taste!!!]
  • Stir and let simmer for another 10 minutes or so
  • EAT AND ENJOY! It’s so zesty and tasty! Almost like butter chicken soup!
4 thoughts on “Creamy Tomato Soup

Leave a Reply

